First Fridays

Free admission after 6pm

Art lovers at these free monthly programs enjoy a lounge-like atmosphere with music, drinks, + open galleries.

Museum Café

Grab your late-night bites + cash bar at El Cafecito, by Mezcal Restaurant

Member benefit: Receive a 10% discount with every purchase at the Café! 

Not a member? Visit the Membership page to join us today.

Museum Store

Shop local! The Museum Store is also open late. 

Member special: During the First Friday of every month, Museum members receive a 20% discount with every purchase at the Store!

This offer does not apply to items that are on sale.

UPCOMING EVENTS

Check the calendar for the latest installment of this series.

Calendar

First Friday: Opening Celebration | Christina Fernandez: Multiple Exposures
Friday, June 7, 2024
6–9pm · Free

First Friday
Friday, July 5, 2024
6–9pm · Free

First Friday
Friday, August 2, 2024
6–9pm · Free

Support

San José Museum of Art First Fridays are made possible in part by major support from the Jay Paul Company.

Operations and programs at the San José Museum of Art are made possible by principal support from SJMA’s Board of Trustees, a Cultural Affairs Grant from the City of San José, and the Lipman Family Foundation; by lead support from the Adobe Foundation, Toby and Barry Fernald, Brook Hartzell and Tad Freese, the Richard A. Karp Charitable Foundation, Tammy and Tom Kiely, Kimberly and Patrick Lin, Yvonne and Mike Nevens, the David and Lucile Packard Foundation, the Skyline Foundation, and the SJMA Director's Council and Council of 100; and with significant endowment support from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and the San José Museum of Art Endowment Fund established by the Knight Foundation at the Silicon Valley Community Foundation.

Sponsor logos

Previously

First Friday: Hip Hop(e), Jazz & Storytelling—Part 3 (Blue) | Dr. Jerry Hiura Award Reception
Friday, May 3, 2024
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Hip Hop(e), Jazz & Storytelling—Part 2 (Green)
Friday, April 5, 2024
6–9pm · Free

First Friday with Brian Fitzgerald Trio
Friday, January 6, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday | Black/Pacific: The Geography of Freedom
Friday, February 3, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Winter Fest 2023
Friday, March 3, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Ensemble for Non-Linear Time
Friday, April 7, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Frances Experience Quartet
Friday, May 5, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday with United Lowrider Council of San José
Friday, June 2, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Yolanda López Opening Celebration
Friday, July 7, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday with San Jose Jazz
Friday, August 4, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Bay Area Drag Kings Honor Yolanda López
Friday, September 1, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: New Ballet Season Preview
Friday, October 6, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Hip Hop(e), Jazz, & Storytelling – Part 1 (Yellow)
Friday, November 3, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Celebrate the Holidays with Pride
Friday, December 1, 2023
6–9pm · Free

First Friday: Community Game Night
Friday, January 5, 2024
6–9pm · Free

First Friday | Fingerstyle Elegance
Friday, February 2, 2024
6–9pm · Free

First Friday with San Jose Jazz: Tracy Cruz Trio
Friday, March 1, 2024
6–9pm · Free