Kids Art Camp – Summer 2020

Who

For children ages 6–14 (camps are divided into age groups 6–8, 9–11, and 12–14)

What

Join SJMA for a week of fun, creativity, and artistic growth this summer. Campers get behind-the-scenes access to exhibitions, experiment with the artistic process, and show off their own work in a student exhibition. SJMA’s teaching artists offer in-depth art experiences inspired by current exhibitions. Kids learn how to look at, talk about, and create art. Each student receives a kit of art supplies to practice new techniques at home.

Each week-long camp is offered Monday through Friday, 9:30am–4pm.

Registration is $425 ($375 for members at the Dual/Family level and above) and opens to SJMA members on Sat, Feb 1, 2020. General registration begins Sat, Feb 8. All camps are offered 9:30am–4pm.

When

Each week-long camp is offered Mon–Fri, 9:30am–4pm. (no camp the week of Jul 4).

Week 1: Mon, Jun 15–Fri, Jun 19 (Ages 6–8 and 9–11)

Week 2: Mon, Jun 22–Fri, Jun 26 (Ages 6–8, 9–11, and 12–14)

Week 3: Mon, Jul 6–Fri, Jul 10 (Ages 6-8 and 9-11, and 12–14)

Student Exhibition for Week 1, Week 2, and Week 3 campers: Sat, Jul 11, 11am–4pm

Week 4: Mon, Jul 13–Fri, Jul 17 (Ages 6–8, 9–11, and 12–14)

Week 5: Mon, Jul 20–Fri, Jul 24 (Ages 6–8 and 9–11, and 12–14)

Week 6: Mon, Jul 27–Fri, Jul 31 (Ages 6–8, 9–11)

Student Exhibition for Week 4, Week 5, and Week 6 campers: Sat, Aug 1, 11am–4pm

Registration 

Due to the high demand for these camps, you may only register for one week.

Online registration only. Museum members at the Dual/Family level, or above, at the time of registration, will receive priority registration and a $50 camp discount. Take advantage of this benefit, join or renew your membership now. You can also choose to become an SJMA member when registering for camp.

Priority Member’s registration: Feb 1–7, 2020 (includes existing/new/renewing Members at the Dual/Family level or above at the time of registration)

General registration: Begins Sat, Feb 8, 2020

Questions regarding the program? Please contact us at 408.291.5393

How to Register (only one week per student please)

Check back on Sat Feb 1, 2020, when registration opens.

Register Now

Camp Fees

  • Museum Members: $375*
  • Non-Members: $425
  • Package: one-year museum membership at the Dual/Family Level + Camp: $450

**Museum membership at the Dual/Family level, or above, at the time of registration is required for discount.

All art materials are included in the camp fee. This program is not a licensed child care or day care. Lunches will not be provided. Students must bring lunch, drink, and a snack.

Refund policy

Refund policy - Fees are refundable if requested before June 1, 2020 ($25 processing fee applies). No refunds will be given starting Jun 1, 2020. The San José Museum of Art has the right to cancel the camp, in which case fees are 100% refundable. Registration is not transferable.